Cacok, Toews receive All-CAA honors


Noah Powers/The Seahawk

Devontae Cacok (15) celebrates with fans following UNCW's 87-79 Senior Night victory over Hofstra on Feb. 16, 2019.

Brandon Sans, Sports Editor

There’s a reason to smile around Trask Coliseum — that’s all UNC Wilmington fans should do with the news that two Seahawks received Colonial Athletic Association honors on Friday.

Senior forward Devontae Cacok (14.9 points, 12.3 rebounds per game) was named to the CAA All-First team for the second straight year after leading the nation with 22 double-doubles.

Cacok also made his third straight CAA All-Defensive team. He was named the conference’s Defensive Player of the Year after his sophomore year.

In a minor upset, freshman point guard Kai Toews (8.8 points, 7.8 assists per game) lost out on CAA Rookie of the Year honors to Drexel guard Camren Wynter (11.4 points, 5.4 assists, 4.5 rebounds per game).

Toews and Wynter both were honored on the conference’s All-Rookie team. He is the 12th Seahawk in program history to be named to the team.

UNCW hopes to keep its season alive in the CAA tournament this weekend. The Seahawks take on Elon Saturday at 6:30 p.m. in the North Charleston Coliseum in the tournament’s first round.

Here’s the full list of CAA honors:


First Team All-CAA
Jarrell Brantley, Col. of Charleston

Devontae Cacok, UNCW

Nathan Knight, William & Mary

Vasa Pusica, Northeastern

Grant Riller, Col. of Charleston

Justin Wright-Foreman, Hofstra

Second Team All-CAA
Eric Carter, Delaware

Brian Fobbs, Towson

Stuckey Mosley, James Madison

Eli Pemberton, Hofstra

Tyler Seibring, Elon

Third Team All-CAA
Desure Buie, Hofstra

Alihan Demir, Drexel

Troy Harper, Drexel

Matt Lewis, James Madison

Justin Pierce, William & Mary

Jordan Roland, Northeastern

2018-19 CAA Player of the Year – Justin Wright-Foreman, Hofstra
2018-19 CAA Coach of the Year – Joe Mihalich, Hofstra

2018-19 CAA Rookie of the Year – Camren Wynter, Drexel
2018-19 CAA Defensive Player of the Year – Desure Buie, Hofstra
2018-19 CAA Sixth Man of the Year – Sheldon Eberhardt, Elon
2018-19 Dean Ehlers Leadership Award – Paul Rowley, William & Mary
2018-19 CAA Scholar-Athlete of the Year – Tyler Seibring, Elon

CAA All-Rookie Team
Chase Audige, William & Mary

Ithiel Horton, Delaware

Deshon Parker, James Madison

Kai Toews, UNCW

Camren Wynter, Drexel

CAA All-Defensive Team
Desure Buie, Hofstra

Devontae Cacok, UNCW

Nathan Knight, William & Mary

Jacquil Taylor, Hofstra

Dennis Tunstall, Towson

Sports Editor Brandon Sans can be found on Twitter @bsans10. Any tips or suggestions should be forwarded via email to [email protected]