Navigate Left
  • Image of emergency service vehicles outside of Morton. (Peyton James/The Seahawk)

    News

    ​​COVID cluster or electrical fire?

  • Biden-Harris administration hosts roundtable to discuss the experiences of two womens pregnancies post the overturn of Roe v. Wade in 2022 (Courtesy of the Biden Campaign).

    News

    Biden Campaign sits down with student journalists to discuss abortion rights

  • Randall Library is under construction as UNCW works to expand the building and resources it offers. (Peyton Lewis/The Seahawk)

    News

    UNCW invests in new expansion to Randall Library

  • People walk with You belong signs at a Pride month protest. (Adiden Craver/Unsplash.com)

    Culture

    Community, isolation and politics: The mental health of queer students at UNCW

  • Group shot of SWE. (Courtesy: Tyler Stubbs)

    News

    Dredging on Wrightsville Beach coming to a close

  • Signs for primary candidates posted outside of an early voting site. (Jackson Davenport/The Seahawk)

    News

    The New Hanover County candidates on your general election ballot

  • Smoke rises from Village Green, as seen from the Central Deck parking garage. (Amelia McNeese/The Seahawk)

    News

    Fire at Green Village Apartments displaces residents and students

  • caption

    News

    Ann Marie Pierce: Wilmington local who took her love of running all the way to the Olympic Trials

  •  Protestors oppose tolls at the WMPO Board Meeting. (Jackson Davenport/The Seahawk)

    News

    Wilmington locals outraged at Cape Fear Memorial Bridge toll meeting

  • Maides Cemetery sign from the Historic Wilmington Foundation. (Sarah Carter/The Seahawk)

    News

    Ground Penetrating Radar used at Maides Cemetery to locate unmarked graves

Navigate Right
The news site of UNC Wilmington

The Seahawk

The news site of UNC Wilmington

The Seahawk

The news site of UNC Wilmington

The Seahawk

The cover of Happy Place, a contemporary romance novel by Emily Henry. (Penguin Random House/Graphic by Nate Mauldin)

REVIEW: Emily Henry’s ‘Happy Place’ is the perfect read to start off your summer

Grace Lanham, Staff Writer May 31, 2023
Emily Henry never fails to exceed reader’s expectations, and her recent release, “Happy Place,” is no exception. I haven’t had the pleasure of reading all of Henry’s books, but “Happy Place” is the perfect follow-up to her three most recent romance titles, all of which I have read: “People We Meet On Vacation,” “Beach Read,” and “Book Lovers.” “Happy Place,” published on April 25, will find a new spot in all readers’ hearts.
The entrace of Cumberland Heights in Nashville, Tenn. (Cumberland Heights)

OP-ED: One day at a time—my battle with addiction

Grant Savage, Contributing Writer May 18, 2023
During this time, my mother and I learned a lot about our relationship. Not only was I abusing drugs, but I was also stealing and lying to her. Shortly before Cumberland Heights, she figured out that I withdrew $2,000 from her account. Law enforcement suggested filing charges against me, which she seriously considered. No charges were brought upon me but a 60-day stint in jail, courtesy of my mother, proved her point. These were topics talked about out loud during family week amongst all of the other participants. Learning about everyone else’s struggles with addiction helped shape my thinking for the rest of my stay at Cumberland Heights.
Rachel Lewis Hilburn in the Coastline studio.

From acting to journalism: The life and career of Rachel Lewis Hilburn

Nate Mauldin, Photography Editor May 8, 2023
The first thing Rachel Hilburn told me when I approached her about this article is that she’s “not a very interesting person,” which to me sounded absurd. I listen to her show “Coastline” almost every week—in the car on the way to work, walking to class or making my morning coffee. The show covers an expansive array of topics. From being queer in Wilmington to escaping from Nazi Germany, Hilburn never ceases to find interesting people and stories to highlight. Though the show is always centered around her ever-fascinating guests, the relaxed precision in her voice invites listeners in. She has a particular talent for allowing people to become great storytellers. As someone who regularly conducts interviews, I wondered, how does she do it?
Joaquin Phoenix as the titular Beau in Beau is Afraid. (A24)

REVIEW: ‘Beau Is Afraid’ is a visually stunning, anxiety-fueled odyssey

Bradley Earnshaw, Staff Writer April 24, 2023
Ari Aster’s third theatrical release, “Beau Is Afraid,” is undoubtedly his most daunting from a viewer’s perspective. It is a three-hour display of Murphy’s Law, where everything that can go wrong does go wrong. While Aster’s first two films “Hereditary” (2018) and “Midsommar” (2019) were certainly horror films, “Beau Is Afraid” is equal parts comedy, drama and horror. With each unfolding of events, the number of possible interpretations of the story grows as the lines blur between reality, dreams, nightmares and hallucinations.
The titular Mario (Chris Pratt) and Luigi (Charlie Day) in The Super Mario Bros. Movie. (Universal Pictures)

REVIEW: Let’s-a-go! ‘The Super Mario Bros. Movie’ is a fun spin on a popular franchise

Abigail Celoria, Culture Editor April 11, 2023
The meme waterfall that followed Chris Pratt’s casting announcement turned the newest franchise-based film, “The Super Mario Bros. Movie,” into something of a must-see. Due to the popularity of the Mario games—because who hasn’t played Mario Kart at least once in their life—the film garnered some speculation. Would it pay proper homage or soullessly promote the video games it hails from?
Funny You Should Ask is this months pick for Novembers Book Club. (Goodreads)

BOOK CLUB: ‘Funny You Should Ask’ is a delightful romcom that loses steam

Anna Ford, Staff Writer December 3, 2022
Imagine spending a fun-filled weekend with your celebrity crush. That is exactly what happens to the witty protagonist in The Seahawk’s November book club pick, “Funny You Should Ask.” If you are a fan of BookTok rom-com novels, “Funny You Should Ask” is for you. While falling into the traditional rom-com pitfalls, there is still Hollywood-esque entertainment to be found throughout.

REVIEW: ‘Black Panther: Wakanda Forever’ graces movie screens as a touching tribute (Contains Spoilers)

Lanie Padgett, Staff Writer November 14, 2022
After hitting theaters on Friday, Nov. 11, “Black Panther: Wakanda Forever” proves an instant success for the MCU franchise. An unsurprising verdict, the sequel follows the fan-favorite “Black Panther,” which broke theaters in 2018 with its very-needed inclusion of an African MCU superhero. “Wakanda Forever” now pays tribute to late actor Chadwick Boseman (T’Challa) whilst introducing a new Black Panther in his place.
UNCW Theatre Department to present ‘Fight Girl Battle World’

UNCW Theatre Department to present ‘Fight Girl Battle World’

Olivia Vizethann, Staff Writer November 9, 2022
UNCW’s Theatre Department prepares to share their final production of the fall semester. This story tells a witty version of the Biblical story of Adam and Eve through a sci-fi lens in their upcoming production “Fight Girl Battle World.” Fans of “Star Wars” and “Star Trek” will enjoy this action-packed tale that indeed takes place in a galaxy far, far away.
Unlikely Animals by Annie Hartnett is this months pick for October Book Club.

BOOK CLUB: ‘Unlikely Animals’ is a reminder that even the most lovable have quirks

Lanie Padgett, Staff Writer November 3, 2022
The Seahawk’s book club pick for October is the perfect pick for a cozy autumn read. Written by up-and-coming author Annie Hartnett, the novel presents a comedic mystery complete with a dysfunctional family situation. At first glance, the reader expects a lighthearted tale that, if done correctly, will leave the audience on the edge of their seats. Hartnett gives all that and more as the novel explores familial and friendship roles while also tackling issues like substance abuse and terminal illness. If you enjoy a classic small-town story with an underdog protagonist, this novel is for you.
Beautiful World, Where Are You by Sally Rooney is the September pick for The Seahawks book club. It is a novel that explores the complexities of friendship and coming of age.

BOOK CLUB: ‘Beautiful World, Where Are You’ is a realistic yet hopeful reflection of modern life

Abigail Celoria, Culture Editor October 6, 2022
The Seahawk’s September book club pick “Beautiful World, Where Are You” is the perfect existential read to curl up with this fall. If you enjoy realistic fiction centered around interpersonal relationships, this novel is for you. Exploring themes of friendship, romance and humanity, “Beautiful World, Where Are You” offers an intimate look into what makes us tick.
A new school year with The Seahawk’s book club

A new school year with The Seahawk’s book club

Abigail Celoria, Culture Editor September 2, 2022
Welcome to another year with The Seahawk! Our book club returns to lessen the stress of a new semester with a compelling September read. Our selection for this month is “Beautiful World, Where Are You” by beloved Irish author Sally Rooney.
The Overstory by Richard Powers is the April pick for The Seahawks book club. It is a story of activism, the natural world, and the interconnectedness of all of us.

BOOK CLUB: ‘The Overstory’ is a love letter to the natural world

Abigail Celoria, Culture Editor May 9, 2022
The Seahawk’s April book club pick “The Overstory” is a read that will leave you looking at the natural world in wonder. If you are interested in works that transcend the traditional story format, “The Overstory” is for you. A masterful, branching work of fiction, this environmentalist narrative breaks the mold by giving trees the spotlight.
Load More Stories
Activate Search
story